[Ad] > Найдите дом своей мечты или квартиру мечты через Tenerife*Property

LPGA Veterans joined Marilynn Smith to raise money for scholarships

Posted by on Sep 15th, 2011 and filed under Golf. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

3rd Annual Marilynn Smith LPGA Charity Golf Classic

On Monday, Sept. 12th, Marilynn Smith hosted the 3rd Annual Marilynn Smith LPGA Charity Golf Classic benefiting The Marilynn Smith Scholarship Fund. On hand to support Marilynn was Shirley Spork and Joanne Carner. Fellow LPGA Founder Louise Suggs and Carner were honorees at the event being hosted at Tuscany Falls Golf Club.

Marilynn Smith was nicknamed “Miss Personality” and with good reason. During her career, she won 21 LPGA tournaments including 2 majors, received the first Patty Berg Award for distinguished service to women’s golf, was the first to record a double eagle, was awarded the Golf Digest LPGA Founder’s Cup for her dedication to charitable services, created and promoted the first Senior LPGA tournament, served as LPGA president 1958-1960, helped start the LPGA T&CP along with Shirley Spork, and was inducted into numerous Halls of Fame, including the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2006 under the Lifetime Achievement category.

The Marilynn Smith Scholarship Fund

Marilynn Smith founded the scholarship fund as a result of the lack of funds available to her while playing golf at the University of Kansas in 1948. Marilynn competed in the Women’s National Intercollegiate Gold tournament. Her father asked the KU athletic director, Phog Allen, for travel expense money to play in the tournament. He said, “Mr. Smith, it’s too bad your daughter is not a boy.” This incident was the catalyst for Marilynn to establish a scholarship fund to help other young women golfers.

The fund provides annual grants to female students who demonstrate academic achievement, leadership, and extraordinary community involvement and plan to play collegiate golf. This event will potentially provide 10 (ten) $10,000 scholarships through the LPGA Foundation.


Front Row (L to R): Peggy Gustafson, Anne Marie Palli, Marvol Barnard, Connie Cramer Caouette, Lorna Miedema, Jackie Bertsh, Tracy Berman, Shirley Spork, Marilynn Smith, Joanne Carner, Char Carson, Susie Urry.
Back Row (L to R): Sherri Turner, Susie Corona, Heather Risk, Lori Astedes, Ellie Gibson, Nancy Henderson, Sharon Miller, Penny Pulz, Joann Prentice, Stephanie Farwig, Tina Barrett, Caroline McMillan, Amy Fruhwirth, Sandra Palmer, Karen Davies, Peggy Briggs, Shelly Hamlin, Janet Anderson, Tina Tombs
Marilynn Smith, Joanne Carner, Shirley Spork
Winning Team (Photo by D. David Ashworth)


Categories: Golf

Comments are closed

[Ad] > Hitta ditt drömhus eller lägenhet på Teneriffa via Tenerife*Property
Log in / Advanced NewsPaper by Gabfire Themes